Lester Park Elementary teacher receives $5,000 Goldfine Gold Star Teacher Award

Lester Park Elementary's Carol Hubert was named winner of the 2013 Goldfine Gold Star Teacher Award on Wednesday evening. Duluth Public Schools
Lester Park Elementary’s Carol Hubert was named winner of the prestigious 2013 Goldfine Gold Star Teacher Award on Wednesday evening. Submitted, Duluth Public Schools

Carol Hubert of Lester Park Elementary School is the recipient of the 2013 Goldfine Gold Star Teacher Award.

Andy Goldfine, son of Manley and Lillian Goldfine, made the announcement at a reception Wednesday evening during which he presented Ms. Hubert with a trophy and a $5,000 check.

Ms. Hubert has been with ISD 709 for about 27 years and currently teaches first grade at Lester Park Elementary in Duluth. In the nomination materials, Lester Park Principal Bonnie Wolden said, “Carol Hubert believes all children can learn and she proves it every day. She is passionate about children and about the teaching profession.”

Ms. Hubert has coordinated the EXCEL program at Lester Park, recruiting teachers, training and meeting regularly to ensure success. She serves on the district Math Committee and has presented workshops for the MCTM (MN Council of Teachers of Mathematics), ER&D (Education Research & Dissemination), MQTN (MN Quality Teaching Network) and MN Best Practices Network.

According to Principal Wolden, because of the quality of her work, Carol is a highly sought after teacher/mentor of pre-service teachers, block students and student teachers by local universities and colleges.

Nine Duluth Public School elementary teachers were nominated for the award based on several criteria, including impact in the classroom, school and community, and their efforts to pursue professional development. Carol Hubert was selected for the award by committee through a competitive application process.

Manley and Lillian Goldfine established a fund for the Gold Star Teacher Award in 2006 through the Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation, to honor inspirational teachers for their dedication, skills and hard work. Last year secondary school teachers were nominated for the award; this year elementary school teachers were nominated.